More ways to keep up with the latest news from Polk County Public Schools:

National Merit Scholarship Winners

Three Polk County Public Schools Students Earn $2,500 National Merit Scholarships

May 13, 2016

Three students from Polk County Public Schools have earned National Merit Scholarships worth $2,500 each.

The winners are: Emily J. Everett from Lakeland High School; Brenda M. Wang and Aaron Gabriel Wan Sandoval -- both from the International Baccalaureate School at Bartow High. The three students were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 National Merit finalists for 2016.

National Merit $2,500 Scholarship winners are chosen because they display the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies. Scholars may use their awards at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university.

Two students from Lakeland’s Harrison School for the Arts -- Annie F. Cheng and Cheston P. Humphries -- were among the winners of corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships announced last month. Additional Merit Scholarship winners will be announced in June and July.