More ways to keep up with the latest news from Polk County Public Schools:

Local Students Honored at the Annual Minority Achievement Awards

June 12, 2013

Dozens of graduates of Polk high schools were honored at the Annual Minority Achievement Awards held on Monday, May 13 at the Branscomb Auditorium at Florida Southern College. The event honored minority students who achieved a 3.5 grade point average or above in regular education classes. The ceremony also included the naming of each school’s minority graduate with the highest GPA and each school’s “most improved” minority graduate, a graduate who makes significant academic gains from their freshman year to their senior year.

The event was organized and coordinated by the Minority Achievement Program committee of Polk County Public Schools.

The honorees are listed below with the names of the schools attended in parenthesis:
Nicolas Del Castillo (Auburndale High);Joseph Townes (Bartow High);Niraj Vyas (Bartow IB); Shannon Alivio (Chain of Lakes Collegiate High); Abel Armijo (Fort Meade High); Tiara Gaines (Frostproof Middle Senior);Laura Gomez (George Jenkins High); Kayla Johnson (Haines City High); Esther Olasoji (Haines City High IB); Alejandro Leiva (Harrison School for the Arts); Kiara Rosa (Kathleen High); Rajean Adams (Lake Gibson High); Maribel Ramirez (Lake Region High); Jocelyn Denise Simmons (Lake Wales High); Carlos Aleman (Lakeland High); Shaquille Hewitt (McKeel Academy); Christopher Arguelles (Mulberry High); Tier Marie Bryant (Polk State College Collegiate High); Symone Roberts (Ridge Community High); Alexandra Rachel Christle (Summerlin Academy); Jennifer Acosta (Tenoroc High); Alex Joseph Villanueva (Winter Haven High).