Keyword for this page: ESE



All phone numbers have the area code 863

Name & Title Location Phone/Fax Programs
Diane Taylor
ESE Director
Bartow Municipal Airport
698 Cessna St.
Bartow, FL 33830

Deirdre Joe-Sullivan
Senior Manager,
Elementary Schools (West & North Central)

West Area Office
Lakeland Highlands Middle School
740 Lake Miriam Drive
Lakeland, FL 33813

Dr. Fraenda Satchel-Carter
Senior Manager,
Elementary Schools (North East & South East)

South East Area Office
1785 East Wabash
Bartow, FL 33830


Stephanie Gardner
Senior Manager,
Middle Schools

North Central Area Office
304 North Fern Road
Lakeland, FL 33801
Shelly Magruder
Senior Manager,
High Schools
North East Area Office
690 North 3rd Street
Lake Alfred, FL 33850

Samelia Davis
Senior Manager,
School Improvement

Bartow Municipal Airport
698 Cessna St.
Bartow, FL 33830
Gregory P. Kent
Senior Manager
Bartow Municipal Airport
698 Cessna St.
Bartow, FL 33830
ESE Pre-Kindergarten, Transition Services
Teri Crace
Senior Manager
Bartow Municipal Airport
698 Cessna St.
Bartow, FL 33830


Adaptive PE, Art, Nursing, Hospital/Homebound, Occupational Therapy/Physical Therapy, Deaf/Hard of Hearing, Vision Program, Hearing Screeners

Dr. Poinsetta Tillman FDLRS Senior Manager

Bartow Municipal Airport
698 Cessna St.
Bartow, FL 33830
FDLRS Sunrise Associate Center

Polk County Schools Mission Statement

To provide a high quality education for all students.

ESE Overview

Polk County’s Exceptional Student Education Department meets the needs of over 15,000 students from preschool through 22 years of age. A continuum of services is provided for each of the exceptionalities. Transition programs are also available to those students who are graduating with a special diploma so that they may become functional adults within their society. The ESE Department has over 800 teachers that participate in in-service training throughout the year to insure continued success for the children and young adults that they serve. Additional support services such as occupational therapy, physical therapy, speech therapy, mental health counseling, assistive technology and audiological evaluations are provided to the students as needed.

The Exceptional Student Education Department enhances the instructional program of every school by helping students who are encountering roadblocks to successful learning.
The Polk County Schools’ ESE Department is supervised by a Director. There are seven Senior Managers that serve as liaisons to schools within their designated areas/programs. The Senior Managers assist parents with providing programming needs for their children. If you have any questions or need addition information, please call the ESE District Office at 534-0930 and the secretary will direct your concerns to the appropriate person.

We have included a list of keywords to help you navigate quickly to your favorite ESE site. You will go directly to your site when you enter the key words into the Search area on the Polk County Schools Home page. You can also click the keywords below and go to your page.

ESE Policies and Procedures (SP & P)

Procedural Safeguards

Listing of Schools by Service Area:

Elementary Schools (West & North Central Areas) – Senior Manager: Deirdre Joe-Sullivan
Auburndale Central Elementary Carlton Palmore Elementary Clarence Boswell Elementary
Cleveland Court Elementary Dixieland Elementary Dr. N.E. Roberts Elementary
Edgar L. Padgett Elementary Highlands Grove Elementary James W. Sikes Elementary
Kathleen Elementary Kingsford Elementary Lake Alfred Elementary
Lena Vista Elementary Lincoln Avenue Academy Medulla Elementary
North Lakeland Elementary Polk City Elementary R. Bruce Wagner Elementary
R. Clem Churchwell Elementary Scott Lake Elementary Sleepy Hill Elementary
Socrum Elementary Southwest Elementary Valleyview Elementary
Wendell Watson Elementary
Elementary Schools (North East & South East Areas) – Senior Manager: Dr. Fraenda Satchel-Carter
Alta Vista Elementary Alturas Elementary Anna Woodbury Elementary
Bartow Elementary Academy Ben Hill Griffin Jr. Elementary Bethune Academy
Chain of Lakes Elementary Eagle Lake Elementary Elbert Elementary
Floral Avenue Elementary Frank E. Brigham Academy Fred G. Garner Elementary
Frostproof Elementary Garden Grove Elementary Gibbons Street Elementary
Haines City Head Start Highland City Elementary Horizons Elementary
James E. Stephens Elementary Jean O'Dell Learning Center Lewis Elementary
Loughman Oaks Elementary Palmetto Elementary Pinewood Elementary
Sandhill Elementary Spessard L. Holland Elementary Spook Hill Elementary
Wahneta Elementary Winter Haven Head Start
Middle Schools – Senior Manager: Stephanie Gardner
Bartow Middle Citrus Ridge: A Civics Academy Daniel Jenkins Academy of Technology
Davenport School of the Arts Doris A Sanders Learning Center Dundee Ridge Middle Academy
Gause Academy of Leadership Jere L. Stambaugh Middle Jewett Middle Academy Magnet
Jewett School of the Arts Karen M. Siegel Academy Lake Gibson Middle
Lake Marion Creek Middle Lakeland Highlands Middle Lawton Chiles Middle Academy
Mulberry Middle PACE Center for Girls REAL Academies
Rochelle School of the Arts Rosabelle W. Blake Academy Sleepy Hill Middle
Union Academy
High Schools – Senior Manager: Shelly Magruder
Auburndale Senior High Bartow Senior High Bill Duncan Opportunity Center
Department of Juvenile Justice - Out of County Donald E. Woods Opportunity Center East Area Adult School
Fort Meade Middle-Senior Fresh Start Davenport Fresh Start Lakeland
Frostproof Middle-Senior George W. Jenkins Senior High Haines City High School
Harrision School for the Arts International Baccalaureate at Bartow High International Baccalaureate at Haines City High
Kathleen Senior High Lake Gibson Senior High Lake Region Senior High
Lakeland Senior High Mulberry Senior High Ridge Community High
Ridge Technical College Ridge Teen Parent Program Roosevelt Academy
Summerlin Academy Tenoroc High Traviss Technical College
West Area Adult School Winter Haven Senior High
School Improvement – Senior Manager: Samelia Davis
Combee Academy of Design & Engineering (CODE) Crystal Lake Elementary Crystal Lake Middle School
Denison Middle Dundee Elementary Academy Eastside Elementary
Griffin Elementary Inwood Elementary Jesse Keen Elementary
John Snively Elementary Kathleen Middle Lake Alfred Polytech Academy
Lake Shipp Elementary Laurel Elementary McLaughlin Middle School and Fine Arts Academy
Oscar J. Pope Elementary Philip O'Brien Elementary Purcell Elementary
Shelley S. Boone Middle Southwest Middle Walter Caldwell Elementary
Westwood Middle Winston Academy of Engineering